Reviews

What people are saying about Sandaig Guest House




Comfortable and quiet - Rating 4/5

My stay was satisfactory. I travel for work and have my own rating system for accommodation.The Sandaig scored 85% which is good and I would stay again.

Reviewer:Christopher D | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 week ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

I have enjoyed my stay at the Sandiag I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms, The staff were very helpful and I will be staying there again highly recommended

Reviewer:Christopher D | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 week ago


Lovely setting- Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Lovely old style large bedroom with a modern refurbed bathroom. Very clean and sumptuous breakfast!Thank you 😊

Reviewer:Mark G | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 week ago


Long weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent base to explore Edinburgh. The Guest House staff was very welcoming, the breakfast was excellent and the superior room was as descibied and very comfortable

Reviewer:john m | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 week ago


The Sandiag- Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Sandiag was good. Very clean and comfortable place to stay. Beautiful location and not too far from city center. Loved the welcome cherry on arrival.

Reviewer:Bhen S | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Nice! - Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money. 30 Min walk to Holyrood Park, bus outside. The description says a lift but none in evidence for our second floor room - take an overnight backpack. Would stay again though.

Reviewer:Janis H | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Our stay in Sandaig questhouse - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Sandaig.Our host was a very nice person.The room was absolutely great with our own bathroom.Breakfast was great too.Nothing to complain.The bus 25 stops in front of the door.But also the airport bus 300 brings you there and to the city.Nice quiet area up a sit big park.We loved our stay there.

Reviewer:Olivia H | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 month ago


A very calm place infront the parc. - Rating 5/5

Like at home, trust, confidence, good service and amazing breackfast in a tipical scotish home. A reallypleasure.

Reviewer:Ramon B | Fri 18th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent! Owners were very helpful. Would use again, and recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:John P | Sat 12th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Ottimo Hotel - Rating 5/5

Camera pulita, in un contesto stupendo, camera grande in una posizione ottima vicino al centro della città,personale gentilissimo e cordiale, massima pulizia,ottimo sotto tutti i punti di vista, Consigliato!!!

Reviewer:Federico R | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Charming! - Rating 5/5

Charming hotel, cozy rooms. Great hosts. Great service! Delicious breakfast.The cleaning could have been a little bit better, nothing major though.

Reviewer:Lisa N | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Good stay - Rating 4/5

Wir haben hier für eine Nacht während unseres kurzen Schottland-Trips geschlafen. Wir haben kurz vorm einchecken eine Mail vom Inhaber bekommen mit dem Hinweis er sei leider nicht zu Hause aber der Schlüssel sei über eine Keybox zu erhalten. Hat alles perfekt geklappt (Aber was passiert hätte ich die Mail nicht gelesen??!!). Zimmer sauber und günstig gelegen, wir sind zu Fuss in die Stadt und mit dem Bus (Linie 25) nachts zurück. Wir würden wieder hier übernachten.

Reviewer:Andr S | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Wonderfully peaceful- Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay. Lovely, spacious room. So peaceful and a lovely view of The Links.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Gillian C | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night as I had business meetings close by. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable, although the bed was slightly firmer than I would have liked. En-suite was fine. I didn’t have breakfast as it started too late. Parking on the road was a pain and ended up parking about 300 metres away. View of the park over the road was nice. Would use this guest house again though as it was suitably priced

Reviewer:Simon M | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was spacious, decorated with taste and very clean. Breakfast is traditionally Scottish but with a wide choice. Staff is very kind.

Reviewer:Julia K | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 1 month ago


Tranquility amid the busy city - Rating 4/5

Feels much further away from the city than it is. No traffic noise at night and wake up to look over a green space.Bus connection to the city, to Leith and to the Botanics are brilliant, but walking is also a possibility.Comfortable bed and effective shower.

Reviewer:Wendy G | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


Comfy and reasonably priced- Rating 5/5

Great wee guest house, lovely breakfast and very friendly service.

Reviewer:Viv B | Sun 25th Mar 2018 | 2 months ago


Zeer gastvrij - Rating 5/5

Mooie schone en nieuwe kamer, Andy doet elk jaar een kamer, zo heeft hij elke 10 jaar alles vernieuwd, wat er voor zorgd dat je in een sweervolle moderne en in ieder geval nette kamer terecht komt. Daarnaast is het ontbijt heel goed en voor 10 pont een koopje als je ziet naar buiten de deur eten. Je krijgt een menu en hij maakt het direct voor je klaar. Al met een aangenaam verblijf op een aangename centrale lokartikel tegen een zeer schappelijke prijs.

Reviewer:Rinze D | Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Second visit to Sandaig - Rating 4/5

I have stayed twice now - different rooms each time. Both rooms were lovely and very spacious. I loved the free sherry. I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that but would definitely stay there again and recommend

Reviewer:Sarah W | Sat 3rd Feb 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic Stay in a great location - Rating 5/5

My wife and i had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Everything we needed was taken care of and we will be staying again when we take a trip through to Edinburgh again. Very freindly owners.

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 22nd Jan 2018 | 5 months ago


Great accommodation when visiting Leith - Rating 5/5

So convenient for all restaurants and attractions in Leith. Parking free and bus stop to Edinburgh just outside. Hospitality great and would always chose Sandaig

Reviewer:Susan D | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


November Stay - Rating 5/5

Very plesant stay.Staff were friendly, room was clean and warm plus the variety of breakfast options really set you up for the day.

Reviewer:Fiona B | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Good choice of breakfasts. Would definitely recommend, and will be back.

Reviewer:Stephen F | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Choose Life, Choose Leith, Choose Sandaig. - Rating 5/5

We were staying for one night and the location was easier for work than central Edinburgh and is also in an interesting and ancient part of town that Leithers would happily argue isn't even part of Edinburgh. The reviews had all mentioned the friendliness of staff but just the way things had worked out we never met any staff until I settled the bill next day, but this didn't affect the quality of our stay. Our room on the 1st floor was beautiful, cosy, spacious and romantic. Overlooking Leith Links itself which gave a feeling of both space and privacy.The room had a nice shower and thre looked to be a shared bathroom on the first floow should you require to use a clawfoot bath during your stay. The room was both traditional in its furnishings but was also quite modern in its bedding and cushions which were bold pinks and browns. The little decanter of sherry was a nice touch as was the fragrance of fresh lillies at reception upon entering. As a lover of Leith you are within reasonable walking distance from local reataurants and a Tesco and you are also in walking distance from pubs and bars (from old men's dive bars and a big Wetherspooon's to gentrified hipster joints) and from takeaway fast food shops to Michelin Star rated restaurants down nearer Ocean Terminal. Parking wasn't too bad on the Wednesday we were there and if carless there is a bus stop just outside and for just £1.60 you can ride to Waverley, Haymarket and beyond. Choose Life, Choose Leith, Choose Sandaig. Paul &Vivien - Glasvegas

Reviewer:Paul Benedict H | Fri 3rd Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Relaxed Stay - Rating 5/5

Booked to be handy for the Royal yacht and were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the accommodation. Easy free on street parking was a real bonus which allows you to have more time to explore by foot. Although the hotel is not maned 24/7 check-in was easy as they were easily contactable and were very helpful

Reviewer:Peter M | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Wonderful place, nice staff. - Rating 5/5

Couldnt be happier with this place.

Reviewer:Victoria F | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 4/5

The guest house was in a perfect location.Very quiet.Not far from the sights and buses.The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily.Breakfast was good.Would definately come again.Thank you for a lovely stay

Reviewer:Pearl C | Tue 3rd Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Two nice days - Rating 5/5

Wonderful small hotel, beautiful and extra confortable room and bathroom. Nice food, kind people. Well organised service. I reccomend it!

Reviewer:Barbara V | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Very nice place! - Rating 4/5

Nice and cosy! Bus stopped right outside.

Reviewer:Anna A | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Frage? - Rating 5/5

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, ich habe noch eine Frage. Beim Buchen über Easy Jet habe ich die Übernachtung im Sandaig per Visa Card bezahlen. Im Hotel habe ich vor der Abreise per Karte bezahlt. Habe ich nun doppel bezahlt? Wenn ja, bitte ich um Rücküberweisung. Bitte teilen Sie mir mit, ob eine Doppelzahlung vorliegt. Herzliche Grüße Anita Indri-Werner

Reviewer:Anita I | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


The Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

A lovely boutique style B &B, comfy bed, spacious room, bath and shower, all very clean. Beautiful dining room playing classical music at breakfast, very relaxing. Full Scottish breakfast cooked to perfection. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only drawback was parking on the road but it was free parking. Bus stop nearby to the city centre was very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Rosemary G | Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


A perfect place to stay in EdinburghQ - Rating 5/5

We loved the Sandaig. Our host Andy was delightful and so very helpful. His wife has done a superb job decorating so that it'svery tasteful but totally comfortable. A perfect location - bus 25 right to downtown just steps away. Terrific breakfast.Highly recommend!

Reviewer:Martha R | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Lovely B&B in Leith - Rating 4/5

Delicious and substantial breakfasts.Very friendly staff.Clean and comfortable room, but watch out for banging your head on the slanted ceiling!Spacious bathroom.Convenient location on quiet street right next to a large park.City bus stops a few steps away.

Reviewer:Mrs. Leenien C | Fri 8th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Super! - Rating 5/5

We loved the warm attention received, the lovely breakfast and the spacious, clean and well-appointed room. Bus stops just outside the guest house made journeys simple and the view of the park a great way to wait at them. Thank you Andy. We will come again.

Reviewer:Susan M | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Lovely boutique style Hotel. Andy and his team are very professional and I will defiantly be staying again... The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom had a very large shower.. and my stay ended with a very tasty breakfast.

Reviewer:Alistair L | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Perfect stay in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

The house is in the quiet quarter of Leigh, just a couple of miles north of the city centrre, in front of a beautiful park with wonderful green grass and trees. The house is traditional, he rooms are clean and elegant, good wifi, excellent breakfast. Wonderful experience!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrea B | Fri 28th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


Our one night visit - Rating 4/5

We found the Sandaig a welcoming venue for our one night stay. The facilities were very good, a comfortable room and modern en suit bathroom. I especially liked the touch of a decanter of sherry and two glasses in the room!

Reviewer:William M | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Sandaig Guest House\' - Rating 5/5

It was great. Clean, beautiful breakfast and the owner, Andy, is very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Alex K | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely few days - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely few days at the Sandaig guest house. We both of us stayed in a family room, with our 6 year old grandson. Very nice staff, nice choice of breakfast. Guest house good for parking and on very good route for buses to centre of edinburgh, or sort walk along the road, for bus to zoo (number 12) A very pleasant few days stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth R | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great room, location, and hosts!

Reviewer:David L | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great room, location, and hosts!

Reviewer:David L | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Warm Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Andy was very helpful. Staff very friendly and efficient.We enjoyed are stayed.

Reviewer:MattG | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay. Hosts were very friendly

Reviewer:Mr. RAJESH B | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

We stayed with friends for three nights and would thoroughly recommend the Sandaig. Rooms comfortable with all comforts. Excellent breakfast. Could not fault it.

Reviewer:Derek M | Tue 27th Jun 2017 | 12 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed for two nights. Comfortable and clean. Lovely breakfast and a great location to the city.

Reviewer:Louise C | Tue 27th Jun 2017 | 12 months ago


London 2017 - Rating 4/5

Very nice room, quiet location, good breakfast, bus stop in front of the house, very friendly landlady and landlord.

Reviewer:Ms. Ashi F | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


One night in double room - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with the room and the standard of welcome and service

Reviewer:James T | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Visiting Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

Perfect place to stay in Leith walk Soto the city centre

Reviewer:DANA Z | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh Visit. - Rating 4/5

Andy, is a friendly host, always helpful and keen to assist with information and travel around the sights of Edinburgh. The accommodation was good and the choice of breakfast items could get every mouth watering.

Reviewer:Walter P | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend at the Sandig - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful weekend at the Sandaig Guest House.Very frendly stuff, comfortable room and bath. Great breakfast. Every thing was fine.

Reviewer:Raimund G | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent service- Rating 5/5

Clean and cozy rooms. Very friendly hosts. Excellent service. Breakfast lovingly arranged and tasty. Karen's and Andy's guesthouse is absolutely recommandable.

Reviewer:Mr. Dennis K | Wed 24th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh a friendly stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay with our son and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere We found the place excellent in a pretty place

Reviewer:Barbara D | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Andy and Karren were the perfect host's with lots of information about places to see in Edinburgh. Room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast had lots of choice and beautifully cooked. Would recommend. Pauline Mcalpin.

Reviewer:Pauline M | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable & quiet - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room and quiet - important for me as I live in a small village and do not sleep well in a noisy city.Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:david k | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

What a delight to stay here...andy was a marvelous jost, rooms as poctired and breakfast made to order. Would definitel stay again and again

Reviewer:MichelleC | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb accomodation - Rating 5/5

Great B&B, very nice surroundings, brilliant breakfast, lovely rooms. Outstanding hospitality.

Reviewer:Lasse O | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Just returned from staying at the Sandaig guest house with my mum and sisters stayed in the family room, the room was lovely, spotless accomadation and very comfortable beds. Our hosts were fantastic approachable, friendly with nothing being any trouble would highly recommend and would return again with no hesitation. To sum up fab!!!!

Reviewer:Claire C | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Dear Andy,The stay at your sandaig guest house was all around pleasant and nice. Especially the friendliness ensured that we immediately felt comfortable. Many many thanks!We will definitely come back again.Until next time.Greetings from BerlinKatharina and Ireen

Reviewer:Ireen L | Wed 19th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Yet another stay!!! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Sandaig many times and always enjoy it.comfy beds tasty brekkie and we love Leith. Thanks Andy

Reviewer:Mrs. AnneC | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

Very clean, organizationed, delicious breakfast, very nice and stylish guest house

Reviewer:Desmond H | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


nice - Rating 5/5

Every thing was very nice. I like the room, the view, the bus station in the next area. Edinburgh is cool and the best are owners from the hotel.

Reviewer:daniela s | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great host. Lovely room. - Rating 5/5

Good location with a bus stop to Edinburgh a few steps away. Andy your host is very welcoming and cooks a fab breakfast. We had a large king room which was quiet and comfortable. Clean and tasteful room with everything you need. Hairdryer, iron, kettle etc. Welcome drink in the room. Would recommend highly.

Reviewer:joanne w | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Enjoyed the stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel was nice. In a quiet area.

Reviewer:JAMES MONOGAN I | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

IDEALLY SITUATED FOR EASY ACCESS TO EDINBURGH + FREE PARKING! OUR HOSTS, ROOM &BREAKFAST WERE GREAT.OVERLOOKS A LOVELY PARK.

Reviewer:Linda B | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable stay,andy the owner could not be more helpful, would stay again, easy parking, no25 bus into the city, walking distance to shore area of eiths bars and restaurants

Reviewer:Mr. alan s | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous place! - Rating 5/5

Your guest house was indeed a home away from home! I will certainly stay with you again in the future!

Reviewer:Miss. denise m | Wed 11th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh for 2 nights - Rating 5/5

Sandaig hotel is awesome and the landlord is very friendly!We do recommend this place!

Reviewer:Karel K | Mon 26th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Christmas in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

We had a two night stay at Sandiag Hotel our room was very spacious overlooking the Links. The hotel was clean and had lots of original features, breakfast was very good all the hot food was cooked to order and the choice was very good.Although they were a little short staffed (A familymember was in hospital) we did not experience any disruption in fact nothing was too much trouble for them. Od I stop here again -Most definitely

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra I | Thu 15th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


sandaig guest house- Rating 5/5

stayed at the sandaig guest house 2nd-4th december could not have asked for anything better rooms are immaculte the breakfast is everything you need to start the day and plentiful buses stop right outside to go into the centre of edinburgh about 10 min journey and the decanter of sherry in the rooms is a very nice touch andy the owner is a very friendly guy as was the young girl looking after you for breakfast will return to the sandaig thanks for a great time

Reviewer:James R | Tue 6th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


A comfortable relaxing place to stay. - Rating 4/5

My daughter and I stayed for two nights and were very pleased with Sandaig Guest House. A nice room and bathroom and an excellent breakfast. We would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Reviewer:Elizabeth N | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Great guesthouse with the charm of Leith close by.- Rating 4/5

We had a very nice stay at Sandaig last weekend. Room is beautiful and all four of us fit in easily. Breakfast is made to order and truly one of the nicest around. Location great, bus stop to downtown Edinburgh right in front, but we sort of preferred Leith altogether and Sandaig is very well located to explore Leith.

Reviewer:MattiL | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


An Fab Hotel - Rating 4/5

Wonderful place to stay so friendly great breakfast good location would def recommend staying there 😄

Reviewer:Elaine F | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guest house. Lovely room, very accommodating and friendly staff. Thank you.

Reviewer:Helena C | Thu 17th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff, rooms were lovely and clean.A brilliant B&B would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Edinburgh to stay here.

Reviewer:Alex C | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Warm and friendly B&B - Rating 4/5

Mine host Andy,was very welcoming and full advice &info. A clean and comfortable room and ensuite in a handy and quiet location. Excellent breakfast. Bus to city just down the road as was a nice pub.

Reviewer:Bill D | Fri 4th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A very nice host, room was great, so much space, very good breakfast, free parking direct in front of the house, and bus takes only 8 minutes to city centre.

Reviewer:Daniel H | Wed 2nd Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Sandaig guest house Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

The hotel staff were accommodating friendly and wonderful .. we stayed with our daughter and all our needs were met to excellent standards .. our next stay in Edinburgh will be at the same hotel .. and every other trip To Edinburghwill be .. thank you sandaig we are very happy to have stayed .

Reviewer:Helen C | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Andrew our host was wonderfulBreakfast was plentiful and deliciousThe bus stopped just out the front and it was right on the park.Would recommend anyone to stay infact we have already booked 2 more stays.Rhank you so much Andrew for our stay.Regards Jenny and Ian

Reviewer:Jennifer D | Thu 27th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Good stay- Rating 4/5

We stayed here for one night. A short bus ride to the city centre with bus stops right outside,easy parking. Lovely owners. Would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewer:Caroline A | Sat 22nd Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Good stay- Rating 4/5

We stayed here for one night. A short bus ride to the city centre with bus stops right outside,easy parking. Lovely owners. Would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewer:Caroline A | Sat 22nd Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at The Sandaig Guest House. The room, breakfast, location and above all the hospitality were excellent. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Peter Van De V | Wed 19th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Great guest house- Rating 5/5

A really good experience. Stayed for one night and had a better breakfast than in many hotlels.Great choice of starters and mains.Very welcoming hosts and will be back. ,

Reviewer:Kathryn S | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

And a spacious room with a beautiful view

Reviewer:Sezai O | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Very happy to recommend this guest house. Andy was extremely welcoming and provided us with good freshly cooked breakfasts.Room 4 for those who book in the future is not for the unfit as it is in the attic. The shower is very small too especially if you are of a "mature"size.All in all pretty good though

Reviewer:Alexander M | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Thanks so much! - Rating 5/5

The Sandaig, run by Andy and his staff, is a terrificplace to stay in Edinburgh. The breakfast was very good, offering a number of great options.It is located a bit outside the city center, across from Leith Links park. Taking the bus into the heart of Edinbugh was easy, as was walking down to the water-the canaI. There are lots fun pubs and great restaurants in this area. The Sandaig rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Thanks again Andy and everyone for your gfine hospitality.

Reviewer:Ms. Sheryl R | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay. - Rating 5/5

Great rooms and very nice staff

Reviewer:Katja F | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable, good sized room with good facilities. Only problem was we slept in for breakfast!

Reviewer:Fiona H | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Great little guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at The Sandaig, Leith, this was a great base for sightseeing in Edinburgh, with the added bonus of the bus stop being outside, the number 25 bus taking you into the town centre. The Royal Yacht Britannia was within 15 minute walk of The Sandaig. Staff were very friendly and the breakfasts had a varied choice from fruit and yoghurt to full cooked breakfast including haggis!! The room was comfortable and my husband and I had the best three nights sleep for a long time! Not five star luxury but five star hospitality.

Reviewer:Kenneth T | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Great place, will certainly book again! - Rating 5/5

We only stayed in the house for 1 night and had a breakfast. The room was very clean, really big bathrooms always a plus. Location is quiet with a nice park across the street. The breakfast was very nice as well.

Reviewer:Daniel K | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Very cozy and family environment- Rating 5/5

Thanks for receiving us! Great place to stay close to the center. In front of a very nice park. Good for family.

Reviewer:Veronica M | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Ok - Rating 4/5

Overall it was OKWindow could not be openedWe haven't seen anyone from the hotel, which we found strange

Reviewer:Anita W | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

The location is convenient since the bus stops are very close.Sandaig Guest House is clean, well managed and the staff is amazing. The two ladies, relatives of the owner, were very polite and helpful all the time.We would like to mention that the bathroom was very functional, clean and newly renovated.The breakfast was delicious, well done and well served.Overall it was a very pleasant experience, and I certainly recommend it.

Reviewer:Ms. Maria L G | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice location- Rating 4/5

Good location for my business needs. Very friendly staff with excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Sheena M | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh Stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant guest house, clean and welcoming.Very good breakfast but a little cold!Room very nicely decorated and clean however very stuffy due to being unable to open a window (the blind was broken and could not be raised and also a flat roof immediately outside the window creating a security issue)Ensuite very cramped with damp issues (ventilation would resolve the issue) but generally very clean - shame about the damp.This would not put me off staying again as everyone very pleasant.Not happy however about being charged £2 to pay the bill by debit card, normally charges only apply to credit card transactions

Reviewer:Mr. R D L | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh area B&B - Rating 4/5

Conveniently located B&B with friendly and helpful staff!The room was a little tight for four people.

Reviewer:Robert C | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh area B&B - Rating 4/5

Conveniently located B&B with friendly and helpful staff!The room was a little tight for four people.

Reviewer:Robert C | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a great time... Beautiful room and common spaces, clean, friendly and courteous staff.Breakfast was lovely and location was perfect!Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:MatthewE | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Nice and quite rooms,all clean. Great beds. All fine. Busstation nearby.

Reviewer:Detlev G | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Ideal accommodation - Rating 4/5

The Sandaig Guest House was ideal for us. We were attending the Edinburgh Fringe &wanted quiet, comfortable accommodation away from the hustle &bustle of the city but with easy &quick transport links to get us into the centre. The Sandaig is just perfect with its large comfortable rooms &wonderful breakfast menu - expertly cooked &presented. Step outside &we were on a main bus route to Princes Street. Perfect! We will certainly use this Guest House in future years.

Reviewer:JanetW | Sat 20th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice - Rating 4/5

Very nice place to stay

Reviewer:Silvia R | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


What a nice place - Rating 5/5

Such a friendly little place. Arrived late so had to let ourselves in, no problems and very helpful on the phone. Comfy room, great night's sleep and then a super breakfast. Don't spend money on a chain hotel when you can stay at a place like this.

Reviewer:Alan K | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Sandaig - Rating 4/5

A good place to stay with excellent on street parking when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon. We would have appreciated being able to have breakfast earlier than the 7:45 time so that we could have had earlier starts to our visits around the city.

Reviewer:Mr. Alton E | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Superb Guest House - Rating 5/5

Although we only stayed for two nights we found the accommodation very good.Staff very helpful and a great choice Of cereal and hot food for breakfast.I would definitely stay again if in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Lawrence G | Wed 13th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Stay 4-6 July - Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable room, good breakfast &responsive service, customer friendly staff.Would re-book in future.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth James T | Sat 9th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice B&B a bit out of the centre ... - Rating 4/5

... but quiet and easy to reach by bus. Thanks for the warm welcome and the helping hand with the bus day tickets. Best regards from Munich

Reviewer:Florian C | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay with very nice hosts.Spacious and clean room. Very good choice of breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Christian R | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our host was quite accomodating and helpful and the room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The only issue might be the road noise if your rooom is in the front of the house.

Reviewer:Mrs. ann h | Wed 29th Jun 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Great room and breakfast and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Reviewer:Emma T | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable stay at Sandwich. - Rating 5/5

We arrived a little late but with a key safe code we gained entry and our room key was waiting for js. The room was excellent, very clean and had all facilitjes required. The carafe of sherry was mosr welcome.Met next morning by the propieter Andy, a very friendly and helpfull person. Breakfast excellent too. Location is good, a bus to the city goes past the door. Dining options a ten minute walk through the park.

Reviewer:Mr. Greg C | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 1 year ago


lovely and cozy - Rating 4/5

The location is great for Edinburgh city centre and it is also worth looking around the Leith area. The room was spacious for all four of us, beautifully decorated and very comfortable with a HUGE bed and a clean bathroom. The two course breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices. The owners and staff were all very friendly and very accommodating. Thanks Andy! We would definitely recommend this guest house and would stay again.

Reviewer:Fez R | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay! Good connection to the city center, a lot of pubs around. Nice and quite place to stay. I would wish more variety at breakfast and new bed linen. If we would visit Edinburgh again we would surely stay here :)

Reviewer:Ms. Vera D | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Great spot - Rating 5/5

Kind and welcoming hosts, lovely room, delicious two course breakfast - what more could you want?

Reviewer:Kate M | Mon 30th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Eine Empfehlung wert... - Rating 4/5

Die Zimmer sind schön eingerichtet. Das Personal sehr freundlich. Essen toll. und das Hotel bzw. die Zimmer sind sauber.Hier würden wir wieder herkommen.

Reviewer:Karin L | Sat 28th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay at the Sandaig Guest House.Everything was perfect &we can't wait to return.Well done to Tony &his team.

Reviewer:JoH | Mon 16th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Sandaig - Rating 4/5

Great location - handy for Edinburgh but Leith itself is well worth a look. Clean, comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly, informative and helpful owner.

Reviewer:Deborah H | Thu 5th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Rooms are very nice and the owner knowing your name was a very nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Jon L | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Room, food, service and staff all excellent. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Dr. Robert T | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Top notch B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly B&B well-situated overlooking Leith links.A short stroll to the bars and restaurants of Leith and a 25 min. walk to the centre of Edinburgh. Very clean, well-appointed rooms and a good variety of cooked breakfasts sets you up for the day ahead. We will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Tracy T | Sat 30th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

We were three nights in this wonderful Guest House. Friendly owners, lovely clean rooms - and a few steps to the bus station to the center. We'll come back. Thank you!

Reviewer:Markus S | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


nice cozy hotel - Rating 5/5

very small and cozy hotel. free parking on street. very nice breakfast.

Reviewer:XUY | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend before easter - Rating 4/5

Excellent accomodation and breakfast.Need to attend to the small details such as lightbulbs etc, but I'd have no problem booking again

Reviewer:Stephen W | Tue 22nd Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

Many thanks Andy and karen,made very welcome from start to finish. Cracking breckie too. Many thanks.

Reviewer:BARRYR | Sun 13th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lorraine & John - Rating 5/5

Truly lovely Guest House. Excellent friendly service. Beautiful room and fantastic cooked 2 course breakfast each day! Would definately recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Lorraine R | Thu 11th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


comfortable and friendly - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable stay. The owners are friendly and accomodating. Rooms warm and lots of hot water. A good hearty breakfast set us up for a day exploring lovely Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Penelope H | Tue 9th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Christmas stay in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Sandaig guest house. We were looking for somewhere both reasonable in price and close to the city centre. This was perfect! It was a short bus ride into the city centre and free parking outside which was fantastic. The free breakfast was great!! Would highly recommend this place.

Reviewer:Catherine H | Tue 22nd Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Beautiful- Rating 5/5

Lovely place with great service and amazing hosts (:

Reviewer:AnthonyE | Tue 15th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Stay at sandiag - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay, lovely room and great service ! Would recommend.

Reviewer:Kerry H | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


A lovely guest house to remember - Rating 4/5

The Sandaig is a lovely guest house and the staff treated my wife and I very well. We were there to celebrate my wifes 30th and they made it that extra bit special. Lovely rooms with comfortable beds and very nice shower room. The breakfast was tasty and the staff were great. Ill remember this place with fond memories.

Reviewer:Cameron W | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

Il start by getting the tiny fault with the room and the ONLY fault we could find. There was some damage to the plaster that if nocked would have come off. (im a plasterer by trade and im picky)But apart from that tiny thing let me start with all the brilliant things to talk about.We were greeted by a very busy karren who checked us in and showed us to our room (room 11) which had a brilliant view over the park inside we found whisky, tea n coffee and a very helpfull info booklet with advice with directions and bus routes etc a beautiful ensuit that made brilliant use of the space. A realy nice feature was that we had a little doorway area that we could leave our shoes. Breakfast was real nice having a starter and then a main all made fresh with choice of tea coffee or juices. The hosts Andy and Karren were brilliant they were there when you wanted or needed them but never botherd us when we didnt unlike some places we have stayed. We realy didnt want to leave when or time was up. We have already been telling everyone about it and cant wait to book again next yearMr and Mrs Whittaker (Dan and Emma)

Reviewer:Daniel W | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


first class - Rating 5/5

as it says on the tin excellent stay warm comfortable great hosts and don't sleep in for breakfast

Reviewer:Peter M | Sat 12th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


A little gem of a place - Rating 5/5

Great welcome, good room, excellent breakfast and bus just outside to city center for £1.50

Reviewer:BRYAN M | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Top class B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts Andy and Karen run an excellent establishment well situated by Leith links. Comfortable rooms and terrific breakfasts set you up for all that Leith and Edinburgh have to offer. We will return (as we have on many occasions).

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Fri 4th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Nice and friendly! - Rating 4/5

Nice room, very friendly staff and owners.

Reviewer:Xenia T | Tue 1st Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel. The staff were lovely and the room beautiful. Would love to come back!

Reviewer:Josefine N | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent weekend break - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Sandaig for a friends 40th party in Edinburgh. From Andy's text to welcome our arrival, to super comfy bed, lovely relaxing but fabulous decor, gorgeous breakfast to the amazing no25 bus route in and out of town on the door step, after easily parking outside The Sandaig delivered on all fronts! Thanks you for a lovely beak away.

Reviewer:Lesley P | Tue 24th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


An excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Run by a lovely young couple, right on Leith Link, clean, interesting decor, comfortable bed, modern fixtures in bathroom, many choices for breakfast. We will definitely come back.

Reviewer:Ms. Constancia R | Sat 14th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Good accommodation- Rating 4/5

Good value for money,breakfast excellent friendly &helpful owners.

Reviewer:Alan M | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Autum holiday - Rating 4/5

Sansaig's is a nice place to stay in an intresting part of Edinburgh. Friendly and helpfull hosts, nice room's and a huge breakfast made our time comfortable. We hope to come back!

Reviewer:Mr. Jan A | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Very well kept and friendly guesthouse - Rating 4/5

The Sandaig guesthouse was very reasonably priced and offered everything we needed. Not too far from the centre and free on street parking. The bedroom was well equipped and well maintained. The breakfast was good and enough choice to keep most people happy. The host Ian was very friendly and made a point of coming and talking to us at breakfast every morning. Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:DavidJ | Wed 28th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Autumn Overnight - Rating 5/5

From pre arrival to checking out the hospitality and helpfulness of our hosts was fantastic.Nothing was too much trouble and when I needed an e-mail printed urgently again no trouble.Room , location and breakfast perfect.

Reviewer:Alan S | Sun 18th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Leith Stay Sep 15 - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel. Great location and good breakfast. Walking distnce to Leith waterfront where you will find excellent bars and restaurants.Excellent value for money

Reviewer:PHILH | Thu 1st Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Wonderful Stay! - Rating 5/5

The house was lovely with great atmosphere and easy access to the sights, the breakfast delightful, the hosts awesome!

Reviewer:GeorgeS | Thu 24th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Comfort! - Rating 4/5

Due to a change of plans, we were going to be late but Andy made arrangements for us to get in to the room and short notice.Everything was thought of, well presented and clean. Breakfast was wonderful and Dan/Andy were very courteous and helpful, literally planned out our itinerary for the day!Thank you for all your help and would definitely recommend it!

Reviewer:SalmanE | Wed 16th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Amazing stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay in "The Sandaig"and breakfast was brilliant. I also liked the room, hold in a typical british style.Thank's a lot!

Reviewer:Ralf O | Tue 15th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


brilliant! - Rating 5/5

We had a great time! The breakfast was good,the location was great will definitely think about going back!!

Reviewer:Hollie C | Tue 15th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


If again in Leith, in the Sandaig! - Rating 5/5

The warm welcome from Andy, his suggestions and all the stay in the Sandaig made us feel really welcome and comfortable.We will be back in the Sandaig if back in Leith.

Reviewer:Theodor D | Thu 3rd Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


guest house - Rating 4/5

Thankyou for our stay I felt that the accommodation was really clean and well kept. The beds were comfortable and breakfast very nice. Parking prooved a problem maybe as there was an event on the day. Ok later on the day for parking . Cheers mark

Reviewer:Mark B | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Friendly staff but expensive for the location - Rating 4/5

150£ is too expensive for not being in the center. Otherwise it was a good stay.

Reviewer:Loïc L | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Very nice and clean - Rating 5/5

The room we stayed at was really spacious with lots of daylight. The interior is lovely and we felt comfortable the moment we stepped into the room. The whole B&B is very clean and well looked after. We had a lovely breakdast and Andy and his team were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. The b&B is a bit outside of Edinburgh city center, however, you can take a bus right outside the house which takes you there in 10 minutes.

Reviewer:Ms. Verena S | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

We had a great couple of nights here.Clean and comfy.Just what we wanted.A fair walk into town though.

Reviewer:ConorM | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Historical Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely owners, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. Location, a short 8 minute bus ride to the center of Edinburgh, running every 15 minutes. Would stay again if in the area

Reviewer:Steve M | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Très bonne adresse sur Edinbourgh - Rating 5/5

Nous avons beaucoup apprécié le séjour à Sandaig Guest House. Bien que légèrement excentré par rapport au centre d'Edinbourgh, il est très facile d'accès. Notre chambre était belle et spacieuse et les petites attentions (cherry, petits déjeuners à emporter à 5 h du matin) ont été appréciées. Une très bonne adresse sur Edinbourgh. Seul bémol avec un enfant en bas age :pas de restauration à proximité immédiate.

Reviewer:PascalA | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


a perfect place - Rating 5/5

For staying in Edinburgh this place is an ideal one. Its location is perfect facing a peaceful park with bus stops within a few meters, but first of all, Andy and his wife are very kind and friedly people. And their breakfast sometimes turned out to be too complete for us. A place I'd recommend everyone.

Reviewer:Judit S | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Home away from Home - Rating 5/5

Wonderful B&B.Andy and his wife are friendly, helpful and very accomodating.Breakfast was superb and the area near the waterfront it fun and interesting.Would stay again!

Reviewer:DonnaQ | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Uitstekend Guesthouse, prima locatie - Rating 5/5

Verblijf in juni 2015. Bijzonder prettige ontvangst door het jonge echtpaar Karen en Andy, schone kamers en een prima ontbijt. Tegenover een park, dus ruim uitzicht. Daarnaast voldoende ruimte om de auto aan de straat gratis te parkeren. De locatie in Leith heeft een snelle busverbinding naar het centrum, in Leith zelf zijn gezellige restaurants op loopafstand. Een aantal attracties met een leuke wandeling bereikbaar en daarna de stad rond met de hop-on/hop-off bus. Een zeer aanbevelenswaardige accomodatie.

Reviewer:Mr. Hans van O | Tue 14th Jul 2015 | 2 years ago


Wonderdul Stay - Rating 5/5

I booked this B&B for my parents who are a mature couple. They were really happy with their stay and particularly liked the welcome and the owners were very helpful. The breakfast was good and their room was very comfortable. They would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Ester S | Wed 1st Jul 2015 | 2 years ago


lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely b&b, fabulous breakfast, nice location.

Reviewer:AnthonyK | Wed 1st Jul 2015 | 2 years ago


What a place to stay! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for comfort, location, peace of mind and a warm welcoming atmosphere, look no further!The proriotorscwere so warm and happy, the property was beautifully decorated and clean. We left our car parked outside a took on of the frequent busses into Edinburgh which was a deli get. Oh! And the breakfast was all you would expect, plenty of choices, filling and the best quality!

Reviewer:Ronnie J | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A very comfortable homely BnB - Rating 4/5

Sandaig Guest House if is conveniently located in a quiet street, overlooking a large park, close to buses and an easy walk to cafés , restaurants and bars. The owners are very welcoming and professional. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional in quality, presentation, and quantity.

Reviewer:Ms. Jan H | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Really nice - Rating 4/5

Very friendly service, good food, location handy with busstop right across the street.

Reviewer:Henrike E | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Third time stay! - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd visit to Edinburgh, I didn't bother looking elsewhere to stay, easy to park outside the B&B. Bus route just outside to the city, but easy to walk. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Great breakfast.Andy and Karen were very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tiffany U | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

This B&B was a positive surprise to me and my family. Location is perfect Bus 25 takes 5 minutes to go in downtown. Breakfast was excellent as well as the furniture in the room and bed quality. My son was very happy and for me this was another added value. Owners was kind and always available with explanations andsupport. Good deal great value.

Reviewer:Mr. ANTONIO DE V | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Bed- and bathroom were very nice, everything was clean. Thanks a lot for the welcome-drinks, that was very friendly. The breakfast was very delicious, it was nice to have the choice between so many meals.In the bedroom it might be good to have a little siteboard or something similar, so it would be easier to store luggage, clothes, etc.All in all it was a wonderful stay at Sandaig!

Reviewer:Sven F | Thu 4th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Good little place to stay for a visit. Sharp stairs if you have heavy luggage! Perfect breakfast.

Reviewer:Jean-Pierre A | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very good accommodation! Would highly recommend! - Rating 5/5

Andy &Karen really look after you at Sandaig Guest House! We found the location to be very good, as being just outside the city centre, it was very quiet &we love being near the sea. We enjoyed the restaurants lcated at the marina after being in the city all day. The room &house are very well appointed &clean, with everything we needed &any extras we asked for were no trouble at all, such as an extra towel to wrap my long hair. The breakfast was excellent! Very nice, helpful &obliging hosts. Car parking, was on the street immediately in front &free. The bus stops immediately in front so we caught the bus into the city of Edinburgh easily everyday. Andy was an excellent source of tourist information as well.

Reviewer:SimonM | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Highly recommended place - Rating 5/5

Great guest house - quiet, with an extremely friendly and helpful staff (Andy and others), and wonderful breakfast.

Reviewer:Meilute R | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great stay in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights at Sandaig Guest House during the Spring bank holiday and we couldn't be more happy with our choice. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated, with spacious rooms overlooking the Leith Links park. The hosts were helpful from the very first moment - they offered to pack our breakfast when we went on a tour early in the morning and gave us access to the house after check-out to pick up our luggage. Breakfast is included in the hotel fare and is excellent, with a diverse range of choices, including typical Scottish food. Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay at Sandaig Guest House and would definitely recommend it to other guests.

Reviewer:INESM | Mon 25th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Spent two nights at this wonderful Guest House with two friends.We arrived late and had full instructions emailed to us on how to get into the house.The Guest House has a bus stop just down the road and a very quick trip into Edinburgh.Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with a very good choice and very friendly service.Andy was very helpful and gave us more information about bus schedules and places to visit whilst in Edinburgh.I would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent Guest House3 Adults staying in May 2015

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne C | Tue 19th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very pleased to stay in such a well organised and carefully taken care of guest house

Reviewer:Gerald H | Mon 18th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay on ba business trip.Owners very helpful and I highly recommend the Sandaig to other travellers

Reviewer:Thomas G | Sun 10th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice - Rating 4/5

Very nice and friendly but the room was a bit to small for 4 adults.

Reviewer:Michael V | Mon 4th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Very fine location with a perfect location to see city and Britania.A wonderfull breakfast and very lovely hosts.I will repeat that!

Reviewer:MichaelP | Mon 4th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable and well run - Rating 5/5

Our room up on the top floor was small but well set up with a well-functioning bathroom.An efficiently run and comfortable B &B in a nice location opposite a large park.Beware, though - they charge a considerable fee for payments by card.

Reviewer:Christine J | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Nice guesthouse, run by a very friendly couple, that combine traditional English style with modern styles in a very elegant way! Perfect location if you are by car;parking in front of the guesthouse and on walking distance to nice restaurants. We really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewer:A.J. Ter A | Tue 28th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Truly amazing!!! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for the weekend with my boyfriend and we will definitely be back! Free parking outside is a great bonus for anyone wishing to bring the car! We had Such a lovely warm and friendly welcome from Andy - the host. We were given a tour of the downstairs breakfast area and communal lounge so we knew where everything was and now it all works. First thing you notice is how lovely smelling the place is and how amazingly clean it is!! Our room was beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless, Andy told us all about bus services that would be useful to us and he would order us a taxi if needs be, he also told us if we had any problems at all just to phone the number in the beautifully presented guestbook - this number was linked to his mobile (in case he was out) - a very nice touch! This book contained lots of handy leaflets and information! Guesthouse has very good wifi and a fab heating system that works pretty quick! Breakfast is absolutely outstanding and comes in 2 courses (starter and main) only if you want it of course, there is a great selection to choose from, there's also a self serve cereal bar with a good variety of juices and of course tea and coffee. Was really worth getting up early for! I recommend this guesthouse to anyone and we can't wait to come back!! Thank you so much to Andy and his lovely wife Karen for making our stay so good!

Reviewer:Jazmin S | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


The place to go ! - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, delicious scotish breakfast, very warm welcome, we really recomend this guest house.

Reviewer:CHRISTOPHE G | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely stay, nice room, lovely breakfast. Karen andAndy were so friendly and helpfull!

Reviewer:Brian I | Sat 11th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

The Sandaig Guest House is perfectly located to visit centre of Edinburgh and also the Britannia and Ocean terminal.The room was spacious and very comfortable with a big bed and very clean bathroom.The breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices.We would definitely recommend this guest house and would stay again.

Reviewer:Sara Jane W | Sat 11th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Restful stay - Rating 4/5

We were impressed with the quality of the room and the view over the Leith Links park. The full breakfast was just too generous, it was enough for the whole day!! Our hosts Karen and Andy were warm and welcoming. We had a wonderfully restful stay and would recommend a stay.

Reviewer:PaulH | Fri 10th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic B&B with exceptional service.- Rating 5/5

I would recommend the Sandaig to anyone as it is a great place to stay.The rooms are really comfortable and the staff are brilliant.Definitely staying here again next time in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:JoseA | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


wonderful - Rating 5/5

Without doubt one of the nicest places i have stayed in a long time. From the lovely welcome, the beautiful room, the welcome drinks, excellent service and yummy breakfast. Andy and Karen were lovely. We will definitely be back :D

Reviewer:Charlotte O | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Sandpit Guest House - Rating 4/5

Made to feel very welcome.Cosy, comfortable room and excellent breakfast.Hope to be back soon.

Reviewer:Linda R | Tue 17th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 4/5

Sandaig guest house is a smart well looked after place.Andy is a very pleasant and helpfulperson.The room was of a good standard.All in all Iwould definately book here again and recommend this to my freinds.

Reviewer:Stefan O | Thu 12th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


overnight stay- Rating 5/5

Beautiful home, very clean and tastefully furnished. A little sherry awaiting, which made us feel warm and welcome. Breakfast was stunning.. staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return when we next go to Edinburgh.. Thank you very much.

Reviewer:ChristineC | Mon 9th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Would stay again! - Rating 4/5

Very happy with guest house. Comfortable bed. Adequate provisions. Bathroom wee bit outdated but fully functional. Excellent breakfast. Would stay again if accommodation required in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:SarahL | Sun 8th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


O la Scozia o la Vita.. - Rating 5/5

excellent place, excellent people... great Italia against Scotland!!

Reviewer:FrancoG | Wed 4th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Sandaig for a long weekend and I can highly recommend it. It is in a great location and the quality of the rooms, facilities and food is superb. The host were friendly and very helpful. I will certainly be staying here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris M | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, friendly and welcoming host and excellent breakfast. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Alison J | Thu 19th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Excellent guesthouse, good transport links to city centre, lovely breakfasts and extremely friendly and helpful owners.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Thu 12th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Trustworthy and very hospitable, - Rating 5/5

My husband left his new iPad in our room when we checked out.We figured it out after we arrived home.I emailed Andy and he did find it and securely posted it to us.Wonderful people that own the Sandaig Guest House!

Reviewer:Laura K | Mon 12th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We had an awesome stay, andy was a great host and very professional.rooms were excellent and breakfast was very well done,great choice for all diets. Great location and will be our choice of stay when we return this year.

Reviewer:PaulineI | Wed 7th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


isabella.smith@barnardos.org.uk - Rating 5/5

we changed our dates for earlier date as the stay was bought for us for a present. we contacted Sam who was happy for us to change weekends. the saty was amazing nothing was to much trouble, the room was comfortable very well decorated, the breakfast was fantastic my only quibble would be we wanted to stay longer for new year however it was all booked. We will be going back to stay for longer and will be encouraging anyone we know to stay well worth it

Reviewer:IsabellaS | Mon 5th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


first class - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this guest house to anyone. The service &convenience of location were second to none.

Reviewer:Neil T | Sun 4th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


A superb stay in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

We have 've had a fantastic stay in Sandaig guesthouse! The service was great as was breakfast. If we go back to Scotland(and we certainly will) we will surely book again at Sandaig.

Reviewer:Bianca Van De K | Sun 4th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


keith and carol - Rating 5/5

excellent, we were made vey welcome and enjoyed our stay @ sandaig would highly recommend the guest house.

Reviewer:Keith D | Mon 29th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast and very friendly and accommodating hosts. We were very pleased with our stay at the Sandaig. I would recommend it to others visiting Edinburgh. Free parking outside and easy travel links to city centre are a big bonus!

Reviewer:Mohammad A | Wed 24th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


I like Sandaig - Rating 5/5

Everthing was ok, I can recomend the place!

Reviewer:Mr. Markus N | Tue 23rd Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely place :-)- Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Sandaig for the weekend as we'd made a booking for a birthday dinner at The Kitchin - a short walk away- and wanted a cosy base for the weekend. The room was comfy, breakfast scrummy and Andrew was a friendly, kind and attentive host :-)

Reviewer:David F | Mon 1st Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Happy to Return - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value for money.The room on the 2nd floor was small but functional and there was a lovely view over the park.Breakfast was well prepared from a good menu.Thank you

Reviewer:KathyP | Tue 25th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Quality B & B - Rating 4/5

Easy to find, on road free parking and ideal for visiting Brittania. Large room and bathroom. Excellent breakfast and very helpfull owner.

Reviewer:Mr. David F | Sat 22nd Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Ottimo B&B - Rating 5/5

Camere pulite e ottima colazione. Posizione comoda per recarsi in centro, è vicino alla fermata dell'autobus. Padrone di casa molto gentile e disponibile.

Reviewer:Mr. Domenighini D | Fri 21st Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


city break - Rating 5/5

Andy was very welcoming and informative on our arrival. The bed room was very clean and well equipped. Very good choice at breakfast, with all food freshly prepared. The location was ideal - views over parkland and regular buses to the centre of Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Lindsay N | Wed 19th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice stay , good room and a fab breakfast.

Reviewer:David Y | Tue 18th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Rugby Weekend- Rating 5/5

Nice warm welcome from Andy, had a lovely weekend at the Sandaig Guest House, Edinburgh.Great location with a bus stop right outside the door!Very comfortable and a great breakfast !Definitely stay there again!

Reviewer:Fiona M | Sun 16th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay at the Sandaig Guest House. We stayed two nights, lovely location, nice room and excellent breakfast. Couldn't fault our stay would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:GrahamJ | Sat 15th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


perfect - Rating 5/5

Evrything Was perfectThe hosts are very friendly, the room is very clean, confortable and beautiful.And the breakfast Was delicious !

Reviewer:Miss. Aureliane R | Sun 9th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Good sleep - Rating 4/5

The room was clean and tidy with a free drink awaiting us on arrival which was very pleasant . Breakfast was delicious .Hotel is situated in a very convenient place not far from city centre and good shops .

Reviewer:Dean E | Sat 25th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Business & Pleasure - Rating 4/5

Perfect for both business &pleasure with excellent free WiFi good road connections easy to travel in and out of town with free parking. Lovely people, great breakfast would book again in the future and recommend to all.

Reviewer:Ian S | Thu 9th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


good - Rating 5/5

very nice hotel,clean, good service

Reviewer:Tao Z | Thu 9th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Easy parking. Staff lovely. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast excellent. Brilliant place to stay. Easy access to Edinburgh City

Reviewer:Sandra M | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


edinburgh break - Rating 5/5

excellent guest house owner extremely helpful good breakfast in easy reach of all attractions.

Reviewer:Andrew Q | Wed 24th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


SandaigGuest House - Rating 5/5

We found the Guest house very well situated with a bus stop outside and within easy walking distance of the Shore where there are lovely restaurants. Our room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewer:Helena G | Tue 23rd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


city break - Rating 4/5

good location easy access to city centre. Warm welcome on arrival and during our stay nothing was too much trouble. Room lovely and spacious ,breakfast excellent plenty of choice ,would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise S | Fri 19th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Great place and people - Rating 5/5

We had only one night but all we saw has been great. hanks for the excellent service.

Reviewer:Heiner G | Thu 11th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

High expectations of the Sandaig all met! Amazing breakfast, friendly and attentive staff and lovely room with a great bed. Definitely worth getting a deluxe room as it is a cheap upgrade for an extremely lovely room, will go back to the deluxe rooms on our next visit!

Reviewer:Matthew M | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Good choice - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel and excellent service - very good breakfast. Good location as bus stop is very close to get to center in 10 minutes

Reviewer:PekkaS | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

Hotel is in a beautiful location a few minutes from downtown. Nice and clean rooms. Super hosts. Good food and service. We would recommend this hotel, we were satisfied with it and have no reservations.

Reviewer:Barbora V | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay, the room was big and beautiful, the bathroom adequate. The breakfast was freshly made and served by a very friendly Lady, we enjoyed it very much. We had a minor problem with the shower, which immediately has been fixed, so everything was great. The guesthouse is located 1 min from the bus-stop to town, the bus 25 leaves every 10 minutes and it takes about 10 minutes to Princes Street/Waverly. Nights were silent, everything perfect.

Reviewer:BrigitteB | Wed 3rd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Mini break - Rating 5/5

We have just come back from a mini break and stayed at the Sandaig Guest House. I can't say a bad as everything was outstanding, from the moment we walked through the door. Room excellent clean and tidy. Breakfast excellent with plenty to choose. Will be going back again

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda P | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our three night stay. Plenty of lovely breakfast choice. Room large but dark. Very nice welcome. Andy and Karen only four weeks as new owners doing very well though. Hope it all works well for them.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marilyn D | Tue 19th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Experience comfort and home in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

A guest house run with a contemporary panache.Our stay was pleasant and comfortable.Room prices seem a little bit vague as it would appear it is left to the owner's discretion. Recommended for staying more than one night as it is a little far away from the centre.

Reviewer:Mans A | Sat 16th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


The Sandaig - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable guest house - very clean.Andy and Karen were lovely hosts.We had a family room with en-suite which was perfect for our needs.A little more storage space would be good and dedicated tea making facility space.Would certainly stay here again if returning to Edinburgh. Breakfast choice was excellent.

Reviewer:Julia D | Thu 14th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Feels Like Home- Rating 5/5

My family enjoyed one night as Sandaig and the family run guest house caters for everyoens needs. Andy welcomes everyone and offers that personal touch and goes that extra mile to make the stay memorable

Reviewer:Alexander H | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


A warm welcome awaits you - Rating 4/5

Sandaig Guesthouse is a very hospitable and friendly place to stay. Room was very comfortable and clean with a huge en-suite bathroom and complimentary cookies and sherry on arrival. We had a good sleep due to a comfortable bed and quiet location of guesthouse. Restaurants and pubs are only a short walk away and a short taxi ride takes you to centre of Edinburgh. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice including full Scottish breakfast freshly prepared. Free parking available on street outside guesthouse. Would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Reviewer:Martin C | Thu 7th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


THE SANDAIG - Rating 4/5

Etablissement très plaisant et accueil chaleureux

Reviewer:Mr. MartinaA | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


good value for the money - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Sandaig.The host was extremely friendly and the rooms were decorated nicely and very clean.I am American so I am used to softer pillows and beds and staying on the top floor means lugging you luggage up several flights of stairs.But if given the choice I would recommend this place to friends and family.

Reviewer:Kimberly M | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful hotel run by some very friendly &helpful people. Andy has a very relaxed but efficient demeanour which helps to make you feel very welcome. Some lovely little touches which make the stay a bit special (a welcome drink in the room &a wonderful breakfast menu are just 2 examples). I would highly recommend this hotel &would certainly stay again on future vists.

Reviewer:Wayne H | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Fantastic in every way - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities, wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast. Impeccably maintained and highly recommended.

Reviewer:Ms. Jennifer L | Sat 26th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


positive - Rating 4/5

excellent adress to stay in Edinburgh - Bus close to hotel - nice park in front of hotel - easy and free parking - very friendly and nice people - good accomodation - super breakfast

Reviewer:Elza V | Fri 25th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

thanks for the warm welcome. We enjoyed our stay very much.Breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewer:Irene B | Fri 18th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Goodnight - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome even though the business was about to be transferred to new owners.Clean and comfy bed - excellent breakfast and staff all very pleasant.

Reviewer:Andrew B | Thu 17th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful rooms , service and breakfast ... We will stay with you again but bring lighter suitcases :))

Reviewer:Joanne G | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay and good hot water as well as breakfast

Reviewer:Joanne G | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely Accommodations - Rating 5/5

We were booked in the family room for two nights.The room was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable.The breakfast choices were plentiful and tasty.

Reviewer:Mrs. Laura S | Sat 5th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Best we've stayed in. - Rating 5/5

We normally stay in Leith a few times a year because my friends band play in Edinburgh and Leith is only a short walk from Edinburgh but it has a far more Bohemian feel. It is easy to park your car free of charge and 2 minutes in a taxi at night from the town centre. We have stayed in most of the B&B's in this area but this is far the best we've stayed in! It was immaculate and had the feel of an up-market hotel for half the price.We would most certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Vicki B | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Comments - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay - Comfortable room and bathroom, very good service, good breakfast and nicely presented, very good public transport to city center. Highly recommended for all.

Reviewer:Erwin S | Sun 22nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


great experience- Rating 4/5

Excellent service and nice cozy room. Friendly staff and good breakfast. The guest house is in front of the bus stop and bus 25 frequently stops there and goes to princes street.overall a very comfortable experience

Reviewer:Nabeel K | Wed 18th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Large comfortable bed in a decent well equipped room and a first class breakfast.Very good value.

Reviewer:Derek C | Tue 10th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Sandaig over EMF weekend - Rating 5/5

Perfectly located for quick and easy access to central Edinburgh;for walking to visit Britannia, and if participating in the running weekend.The half and full marathons run right past the door:very convenient if participating or spectating.Breakfast superb, and the lovely lady serving makes it a pleasure to go down.Our room overlooked the park, which is beautiful.Lovely views.

Reviewer:Wendy A | Thu 29th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities, nothing seems too much trouble and a superb choice at breakfast - big enough to keep me going all day, but nice and light also for my wife to choose.

Reviewer:Ian P | Sun 11th May 2014 | 4 years ago


guesthouse - Rating 5/5

excellent room lovely breakfast freindly staff would reccomend to anyone was a pleasure staying there

Reviewer:Stephen H | Tue 6th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely Guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent cooked Scottish breakfast with good friendly service. Room was very clean along with rest of the house. Location ok , about 20 min stroll to the center. We arrived late but with Weatherspoons around the corner not a problem. Perfect for our short stay, Would return.

Reviewer:Colin H | Mon 5th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Simply Lovely!! - Rating 5/5

I have stayed there twice, first time on my own and second time with family. Excellent homely feel, nothing too much trouble and the best Scots breakfast ever. Will look forward to staying there again and would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Dr. Tim M | Fri 25th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights at Sandaig over Easter and cant rate it anything less than 5 stars. Rooms clean and spaciousstaff polite,friendly and helpful and breakfasts among the best i've had.Can recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Reviewer:Glen S | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Perfect clean,nice room structure.It looks quite normal from outside.But when you walk in to the hotel,it looks amazing.

Reviewer:Dianbo L | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

We arrived before the normal check in time but our room was ready and Marina and Nicolette were more than helpful in giving us all the information we needed. They were very nice to us for our entire stay.The location is outside of the centre but so easily accessible by bus (and still within walking distance) and ultimately the room price works out really well compared to 25% higher prices for rooms in the city.The breakfast, like so many others have raved about, is excellent!Our room was clean and had a nice bath and shower.We are going to recommend Sandaig to friends and family and we hope to stay ere again in the future.

Reviewer:Christopher S | Mon 7th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


The Sandaig - Rating 5/5

haven't had the opportunity to stay for a long time but have known it for over 10 years.Comfortable stay, good nights sleep, and although not able to take full advantage of the full Scottish breakfast, I know it is excellent

Response

Many thanks.. Marina

Reviewer:Jim M | Wed 2nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Best place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayedhere march 2014.Lovely rooms with everything you need even a glass of wine.Breakfast service was excellent and the foodgood with plenty of choice.Ideal location with a bus stop outside to take you to the city centre and plenty of room to park your car would definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Harry M | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a couple of nights with my daughter, whilst visiting her Uni (all being well this coming Sept).The B&B was lovely, very welcoming staff, pretty room, nice touch with the free port, very clean and the food was excellent.Right next to a bus stop, which takes you to Princes Street - couldn't be any easier to get into the city centre quickly.Thoughly enjoyed our stay and it helped my daughter decide she loves Edinburgh - we'll be back.Thank you.Stayed March 2014

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Wed 19th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Rooms very well presented and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendlyBreakfast choice and quality very good

Reviewer:ERIC E | Tue 18th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Sue Moreton- Rating 5/5

I went with my two friends.We usually stay in hotels.However we were very impressed with the Sandaig .The room was lovely.The breakfast excellent and staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them.lWe will certainly be returning.

Reviewer:Susan M | Wed 19th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


The Sandaig - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for a wonderful stay. Lovely family room, fantastic breakfast and extremely helpful, friendly staff.

Reviewer:Sarah F | Wed 12th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Night Stay- Rating 5/5

Excellent value friendly staff, ideal location for peaceful night sleep

Reviewer:Tim P | Sat 8th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


First class- Rating 5/5

Excellentguest house could not fault it in any wayrooms very nice breakfast outstanding and the staff could not have been more helpful will definitely return

Reviewer:Norman D | Sun 2nd Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Beautifully decorated. Great location for all the fantastic eateries in Leith. Free parking - which is a bonus in Edinburgh! Loved the yogurt, compote and fresh fruit at breakfast. Hotel quality at a really good price. Look forward to staying again

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan G | Thu 30th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

great place to stay, very friendly, clean, cosy, and modern, only stayed the one night but very good value for money, we would definatley stay here again,

Reviewer:Tracy D | Mon 27th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


spot on - Rating 5/5

Only stayed the one night but it was agreat night. Everyone so friendly, room very comfortable and breakfast hit the spot. WiFi was a bit hit and miss on the Saturday but fine on Sunday. Would definately stay again

Reviewer:Mr. William T | Sun 19th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Weekend at Sandaig - Rating 4/5

A beautiful yet understated guesthouse. We had a fantastic 2 nights at the Sandaig made even more pleasant with the professional yet welcoming staff member who looked after us both mornings at breakfast(which was amazing!!) Marina was open to help us with any concerns and made it her priority to make sure our stay was the best it could be. The room we were in was modern and up to date yet homely and inviting. We will definitely be coming back to The Sandaig and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a great guesthouse at a reasonable price, but not compromising on quality. Thank you for a fantastic weekend! :) Rachael and Jimmy x

Reviewer:James F | Sun 19th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


excellent services - Rating 5/5

An excellent and friendly service with clean rooms and amazing breakfast. Highly recommended by my 60odd year old parents and me,a place that finally made a difference to travellers like us.

Reviewer:Evangelos S | Thu 9th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


sandaig guest house - Rating 5/5

Recommend recommend recommend can't say how much we enjoy staying at the Sandaig , great location, good size rooms and porridge with cream for breakfast sets you up for the day ahead

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon M | Thu 2nd Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Welcoming & Comfortable - Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable and comfortable stay over Christmas.We shall come again.Many thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Tom F | Mon 30th Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


A Hidden Jewel - Rating 5/5

Absolutely the most cozy &comfortable experience. The Sandaig Guest House an absolute hidden jewel. Sandaig Staff went above &beyond to make me feel comfortable &like a VIP. Well informed &knowledgeable staff and takes the worry &chaos and fret out of being in an unfamiliar country. They arrange taxis &packs a breakfast on the go if you have an early morning tours or early morning flights. I can't express what a delightful cozy guesthouse to stay with. Definitely book another stay with Sandaig House if I return again to Edinburgh,Scotland. Thank you again for making me feel cozy &welcomed and taking the stress out of travelling to a unfamiliar country.

Reviewer:Nicole E | Thu 14th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


a gem of B&B! - Rating 5/5

Perfect B&B in every way. B&B beautifully decorated, large rooms, quiet. Breakfast fantastic! a whole array of choice and perfectly cooked to your liking. Happy &friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Loads of free parking and a bus stop into the city in ten mins on the doorstop. Highly recommend, can't wait to go back!

Reviewer:LYN D | Mon 11th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


No brainer! - Rating 5/5

Looking for a few days exploring Edinburgh? Look no further, everything about this guest house is first rate, especially the breakfasts! Charming and helpful staff, delightful stay.

Reviewer:Helen W | Fri 8th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Rooms were beautiful staff very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices

Reviewer:Lee P | Mon 4th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Thank You - Rating 5/5

Thank you for looking after me on my resent stay at your guest house "Sandaig guest house"my room was great and enjoyed the food you served me, I only stayed one night but when back in Edinbourgh I will be returning.Best RegardsJohn Reely

Reviewer:John R | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Sandaig Review - Rating 4/5

I would recommend the Sandaig to anyone. Very friendly staff, comfortable well decorated rooms and a great breakfast. Also a great location overlooking the park.

Reviewer:Jim B | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Fantastic place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay in a beautiful house and nice surraundings.The hungarian girl Niki is a very valuable addition to this place.Our room was fantastic with the four poster bed in the middle.Lovely breakfast too.Thanks again.Dora

Reviewer:Miss. Dorottya S | Tue 22nd Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Very good service - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house with very nice welcome and brilliant service for your tasty breakfast. Our room had a big comfy bed and was decorated nicely. Good powerful shower too. Only complaint would be the slanted roof in the top floor room we were allocated.

Reviewer:Ricki K | Mon 21st Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely room,excellent breakfast, pleasant staff.Highly reccommended

Reviewer:Neil A | Sun 13th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Great Value - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.The bed was huge and the facilities offered everything we needed. The breakfast was great and served by a very helpful and friendly lady. The Sandaig is in a great position at the notion of leith an enjoyable 20mins walk into princess street or there are buses every 10mins. Lots of really great restaurants on leith walk. Thank you Marina and staff for a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you so much Eiliidh.. it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Reviewer:Eilidh G | Tue 8th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Sandaig excellence - Rating 5/5

I stayed here based on reviews. It did not disappoint.The breakfasts are wonderful. There is a bus just meters from the door. Restaurants and the shore are a little walk away. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Reviewer:Sharon H | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Fabulous presentation of food at breakfast. Lovely room and easy parking

Reviewer:Aileen B | Mon 23rd Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place, highly recommended. Great location outside of the city and great bus links. Excellent breakfast too.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin K | Mon 16th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Great! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't give any bad reports, staff was soo friendly, professional and go out there way to help you. They were brilliant and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. Lovely place to stay with really nice accommodation and food with brilliant presentation and quality. Obviously a lot of work been put into it! Even with it being slightly out from the centre it had no problem as bus stop basically right outside the hotel that took you into centre regularly! We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Miss. Debbie R | Fri 30th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


honeymoon - Rating 4/5

Well had a lovely time here. It was a great ending to our honeymoon. We definitely would recommended this place. Its only a five minute bus ride to downtown and to the beach.Thank you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Connor J | Fri 30th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Another nice stay - Rating 4/5

Another lovely stay. The rooms are fantastically equipt and clean abs tidy. ironing board , hairdryer. &safe supplied in room 6.breakfast good.transport links great for Edinburgh city and other attractions.look forward to staying again.Look forward

Reviewer:Miss. Sonia C | Wed 28th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Enjoyable experience - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and will consider a superior room next time as the room we chose had a low ceiling and heads were banged!Otherwise the accomodation was comfortable and very clean.The breakfast was exceptional and one of the best we have had anywhere in the world!The hotel is well placed for transportation into the city centre or Ocean Terminal.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony C | Sat 17th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


edinburgh break - Rating 4/5

lovely b and b ,excellent breakfasts ,very friendly would certainly use again .

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne S | Wed 26th Jun 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

We haven't stayed in many guest houses before as we tend to book hotels. After staying here, I will definately stay again and recommend the sandaig guest house to others. The welcome was very friendly and the bedroom was immaculate. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff we met were attentive and efficient. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you so much for you excellent review on The Sandaig. It is really nice to hear that those who usually book hotel accommodation are as equally happy with our bed and breakfast offering. I am also happy to hear that you loved our breakfasts. We hope to see you again.. thank you from all the staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Lucy M | Thu 20th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Sandaig. The room was great, staff were really helpful, breakfast was very tasty with good menu options and it was in a good location just a short walk from the bus stop into the centre of Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane B | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Hotel bedroom sized room, lovely lounge, delicious breakfast, impeccable service.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathleen W | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Great to stay at the Sandaig again. Always helpful, welcoming, friendly, tasty (breakfast!) and comfortable.What's more they have even arranged a discount for guests with my favourite local eatery, ask when you get there.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard W | Thu 9th May 2013 | 5 years ago


5 star b&b - Rating 5/5

The only place to stay in Edinburgh. Great location,great rooms,great staff and a perfect breakfast to start the day! Have stayed here many times and will surely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Mon 22nd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

As ever the hospitality, comfort and breakfast were of the highest standard.Any time we stay in Edinburgh Sandaig is our first choice.

Response

Thank you so much for your review on Sandaig. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian M | Mon 15th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Our stay 8th to 10th April 2013 - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Sandaig and would definitely return.Great location (on a bus route for easy access) and on street parking with no charges which allowed us to leave the car.Breakfast excellent and Nicolette who served us each morning was lovely and very obliging.Our room was a family room with double bed and single for our 10 year old.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea M | Fri 12th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Easter 2013 - Rating 4/5

We booked our stay at the Sandaig at short notice for a family Easter break. I booked based on recommendation on various websites and was not disappointed. The hotel was very welcoming and we liked the bespoke decor. The breakfasts were superb and the staff were extremely friendly making our stay that bit more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers!

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart J | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Our short stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay was short only 1 night but the ro was very comfortable and we enjoyed out stay and would certainly book again next time we are in Edinburgh

Reviewer:Mr. Stevan C | Mon 4th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Fabulous, again. - Rating 5/5

I'm a regular at the Sandaig, the owners are very friendly, the rooms are stylish, cosy and comfortable and the breakfast is great quality and perfect quantity, why would I try anywhere else?

Response

It is always a pleasure having you stay with us at Sandaig.. Looking forward to your next visit with us! Marina and Derek

Reviewer:Mr. Richard W | Sun 20th Jan 2013 | 5 years ago


Sandaig Guest House - Rating 5/5

Great stay. Very helpfull staff

Reviewer:Karin W | Wed 2nd Jan 2013 | 5 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

It almost pains me to share the Sandaig, I'd love to keep it all to myself but in the interests of showing kindness to my hosts... Stay here and have dinner at the Compass just a short walk away, a great welcome, great dinner, great accommodation and great breakfast to boot.One of my favourite places.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of The Sandaig. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us!

Reviewer:Mr. Richard W | Thu 15th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


sandaig guest house - Rating 5/5

There is nothing i could fault with our stay at The Sandaig, room was beautiful and modern, and breakfast was beyond expectation, real quality. The manager and staff always on hand to help, our son loved it too.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard C | Tue 13th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Hotel facilities more than adequate. Breakfast 1st class &the girl waiting the tables was superb. Would certainly stay again as well as recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul B | Sun 4th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Long Weekend - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay ,lovely breakfast sets you up for the day,comfy bed .Nice room overlooking the links.Gordon and staff always willing to assist Will be returning

Response

Mr Townsend - Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at The Sandaig. I am happy to hear that Gordon and his team looked after you well during your stay with us.Marina

Reviewer:Mr. Michael T | Fri 12th Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


Excellent Stay in Leith - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent, spacious, stylish room. The breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious. The location, near to Leith Links, is convenient to the superb restaurants on The Shore and a short drive from Waiverley Station, Edinburgh.

Response

Mr Kurowski - I am delighted to read your review and hope to see you again on a future visit to Edinburgh!Marina

Reviewer:Mr. Paul K | Sun 16th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Very nice room.Vault for money. Will be using the sandaig again . Unfortunately left to early for breakfast. Hopefully will be able to sample thus on my return visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward R | Sat 15th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome to a lovely well kept reception area. The dining room was well presented and the residents lounge equipped with books, TV, dvd and sound system along with two big comfortable sofas. The communal areas are traditionally furnished but still bright and airy;and very warm as the heating was on when we stayed. Our room was in the gods with a lovely big bathroom and walk in shower. Again both were superbly presented and included a refreshment tray &a small decanter of sherry. Breakfast was huge and a good choice. Cereals, porridge, fruit followed by a cooked breakfast or variation of. Plenty tea and coffee and juice. Right beside a bus stop into town with free on street parking. Absolutely nothing not to like. Thank-you and we will be back.

Reviewer:Mr. George H | Sat 8th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


A1 Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

My Mum &I stayed here for 2 nights recently and we were majorly impressed.Nicolette couldn't have been nicer when we were checking in and gave us great directions for walking in to the city centre on the first day.Nicolette was also so polite at breakfast and all our requests were met.This guesthouse is in a lovely location, a 30 minute walk in to the city centre or a 10 min bus ride.The buses are frequent and the bus stop is only a few seconds away from the the guesthouse.The guesthouse is so clean and very comfortable.There is a wide variety on offer for breakfast and the breakfasts are very tasty. I tried haggis for the first time here and loved it! We would both highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Ms. Frances G | Sat 23rd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Sandaig - Rating 5/5

We were down for my daughter's graduation - wonderful room (8) overlooking the park great period room .Only a 5 -10 min walk to the restaurants in Leith.Breakfast went down a treat and set us up for the day.Will obviously try and book when next down in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Gordon M | Thu 21st Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


our Edinburgh base - Rating 5/5

excellent and friendly house. Comfortable and stylish rooms. A gourmet breakfast menue. We have enjoyed our stay! Thank you.

Response

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Ms. CorinnaS | Sun 22nd Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Sandaig - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable stay,the rooms were clean and quiet, the breakfast was simply great and the friendly service ensured we will definitely be back again

Reviewer:Mr. Bryan C | Tue 17th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Fabulous Guest House Representing Great Value - Rating 5/5

Hi,I really like the Sandaig, it's a credit to the owners who redesigned the decor quite recently. The style is modern but with a classy, quality feel, the rooms are a good size and the showers tend to be larger and warm with decent pressure! Each room has it's own radio with iphone dock a kettle and a TV.Breakfast is really good and if you're in a rush the owners are happy to make you a pack up and it keeps you going all day! In the evening there are plenty of excellent restaurants and bars in Leith just a 5 minute walk away.Ideal for city access, business travellers and couples who want to sample the nicer things.Leith Links are opposite the hotel, this is a large grassy area where people walk dogs, go running and play games including football, it's really relaxing so I like to stay here and chill out after a busy day at work.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard W | Fri 30th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Perfect B@B - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend break at the sandaig guesthouse in leith, Edinburgh. The super king-size bed was a treat. The decor of the bedroom was delightful but even better was the scottish breakfast - a great way to start the day ! Well situated by leith links, It was about a 30 minute stroll to the city centre and cost us about £7 for a taxi return at night. Will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Mon 26th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Nice Place - Rating 5/5

Needed a place in Leith. This realy does the job. I had the ground floor room. Huge bath room with corner bath and separate shower. Very nice breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Derek P | Sat 3rd Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


5 star service - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Sandaig on a trip to Murrayfield.The accommodation and service was excellent.I travel regularly with business and this puts 4 star hotels in the shade.Well done and see you again soon .

Reviewer:Mr. Craig L | Sun 12th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

we are worried other B&Bs will not be as satisfactory as this one. breakfast was an experience, the menu included starters and main, very healthy options included. staff were very hospitable. very clean and the rooms are large. we stayed for 5 days and we will definatly come back.

Reviewer:Mr. David U | Fri 21st Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


absolutely amazing - Rating 5/5

That was one of the best place I have ever stayed, beautiful room, excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Ms. KaterinaC | Thu 20th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Three nights - Rating 5/5

This guest house suited us very well. There is a bus stop right outside it with two buses into Edinburgh and it was within walking distance of eateries in Leith. We had a quiet room at the back, which was ideal and well presented. The breakfasts were excellent with vast choice and individually cooked.It would have been good to have a busline leaflet in our room, as we didn't discover the ones in the sitting room until too late.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas A | Sat 24th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


First Class - Rating 4/5

An excelent B&B , Verp pleasant staff and rooms with a very good finish to them all.Would reccomend to anyone.A little out of way from centre of Edinburgh but with great bus links it wasnt too much hastle at all .

Reviewer:Mr. Mark M | Tue 16th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Guests from the States - Rating 4/5

While this guest house had the most beautiful accommodations and a lovely breakfast, we had a hard time finding it, and it is a bit far to walk to centre.

Reviewer:Mr. James F | Sun 14th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Beautiful and Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Probably one of the best accomodations I stayed in during my trip. Beautiful and comfortable rooms, always immaculately tidy. The staff were extremely warm, inviting and lovely. In a perfect location. Would definately stay there again!

Reviewer:Miss. Emily A | Thu 11th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night with my family in the Sangaig. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was very nice. I truly recommend this place.

Reviewer:Ms. Fabiola F | Mon 27th Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks